• Gordon's Brain
  • Posts
  • Pixel 8 Review: A Strong iPhone Alternative After 3 Months

Pixel 8 Review: A Strong iPhone Alternative After 3 Months

Just in time for the release of the Pixel 9, I wanted to share my Android experience as a die-hard iPhone user since 2010. I never thought I'd be writing a review about an Android phone, let alone praising it. But after three months with the Pixel 8, I’m pleasantly surprised at how it stands as a solid iPhone alternative.

My Journey from iPhone to Pixel 8

I’ve been an iPhone user for over a decade, starting with the iPhone 3G I received as a graduation gift in 8th grade. Fast forward to today, the smartphone landscape has evolved dramatically, with AI integration and hardware advancements making phones more capable than ever.

In late April, I was fortunate enough to win a Pixel 8 from my carrier, Helium Mobile (part of the Solana crypto network), on X/Twitter. Having always been curious about the Pixel lineup, I was thrilled to finally have the chance to try one out.

Unboxing the Pixel 8

I received the Pixel 8 in mid-May, and the unboxing experience was reminiscent of Apple's minimalist style. The white box with minimal print and tight tolerances felt premium. Google included a USB-C cable and a USB-A to USB-C dongle, which was a nice touch—something Apple could take notes on.

Google Pixel 8 unboxed with accessories including USB-C cable and USB-A to C dongle.

Initial Setup and Onboarding Experience

Setting up the Pixel 8 was a breeze. The onboarding process was smooth and familiar, much like setting up an iPhone. Signing in with my Google account was straightforward, and I appreciated the clean slate as I didn't import any data (since this will be my secondary phone). I found it convenient that Google still includes a SIM tray, which is sorely missed on the latest U.S. iPhones.

Pixel 8 Usability: A Smooth Experience

User Interface and Navigation

Navigating the Pixel 8 was intuitive, thanks to the gesture bar similar to that on iPhones. For those who prefer traditional navigation buttons, the option to switch is available in the Settings app. The Google Play Store made downloading and installing apps easy, and organizing them felt natural.

App Performance and System Speed

I’ve dabbled with a few Android phones since 2010, but the experience was never as smooth as on iPhones. However, the Pixel 8 changed my perception entirely. Even without developer options like quicker animations enabled, the Pixel 8 delivered a fluid and responsive experience. Popular apps felt well-optimized, and switching between them was seamless.

Google Pixel 8 in use, showing the home screen with gesture bar bottom center similar to iOS

Notifications and Customization

One of the standout features of the Pixel 8 is its robust notification system. The level of customization available far surpasses what iOS offers. You can personalize each notification sound and setting, giving you tremendous flexibility.

File Management on Pixel 8 vs. iPhone

For power users, especially those who frequently manage files, the Pixel 8 shines. Android's file system is expansive, offering a level of control that iOS has only recently attempted to replicate, though it still lags behind.

Conclusion: Is the Pixel 8 a True iPhone Alternative?

After three months with the Pixel 8, I can confidently say it’s a worthy iPhone alternative. The smooth user experience, extensive customization options, and powerful file management make it an excellent choice for anyone looking to switch from iOS to Android. If you’re considering a new phone, the Pixel 8 is definitely worth a look.